Perceptions of Gender in the Comics Industry

Is gender of comics creators a deciding factor in your comic purchases?
Yes 128 7%
No 1614 92%
Do you think comics, as a form of media, are something that appeals to most women?
Yes 507 29%
No 1234 70%

This is the response that concerns me the most.  I’m hoping most respondents didn’t understand what I meant – which is in regards to the FORMAT, not the CONTENT.  It seems really odd that 70% of people would think that pictures and words together in comics form don’t appeal to a specific gender.

Do you think the comics industry as a community appeals to most women?
Yes 275 16%
No 1434 81%

This one doesn’t surprise me because I think it has a lot to do with the responses to my last question – which is that most people think cultural preconceptions keep women away.  If that’s true, then the community wouldn’t appeal to women who see it as juvenile and/or only meant for guys.

Do you think comic book shops, as a whole, are welcoming to women?
Yes 923 52%
No 831 47%

This response surprised me in a positive way – I expected far more people to think that comic shops are a big part of the problem.  

Do you think offering comics digitally will increase female readership?
Yes 1213 69%
No 491 28%
Do you think comic conventions are welcoming to women?
Yes 1094 62%
No 536 30%

 

Do you think the comics industry is accepting of women as a part of the industry?
Yes 1108 63%
No 553 31%
Where do you think the comics industry is in terms of acceptance of women based on its history?
A lot better than it used to be 553 31%
A little better than it used to be 730 41%
About the same as it’s always been 135 8%
A little worse than it used to be 34 2%
A lot worse than it used to be 5 0%
I’m not sure. 262 15%


4 thoughts on “Readership Statistics, II: Perceptions of Gender

  1. The question “Do you think comics, as a form of media, are something that appeals to most women?” is flawed, because it doesn’t compare how appealing the medium is for me to how it is for women. I answered No because comics is a niche medium/format– I don’t think comics as a medium appeals to most PEOPLE, and that includes women.

    • It seems like the definition of comics is different for different people. Ian, are you only talking about current-mainstream comics? Because comics, as just “panels, words and pictures,” including artists like Maria Kalman, Hope Larson, etc., can appeal to anyone regardless of gender.

  2. I’m female and I’ve been buying comics for 13 years. I’m interested to know what the gender of your respondents was. Predominantly male, mixed, predominantly female? (Apologies if there is a backstory to this survey that I am not aware of).

Leave a Reply

